March 10th, 2022, OPEH&W Board of Review Meeting

ACCO Building, 429 NE 50th Street, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

<u>Board Members Present:</u> Mike Bouvier – Washington County Mike Brittingham - Pushmataha County Heath Dobrovolny – Kingfisher County Tammy Malone – Craig County Jymay McLeod – Roger Mills County Kristie Moles – Pawnee County Gary Nielsen – Harper County Cindy Pratt – Grant County CJ Rose – Beaver County Lynn Smith – Ellis County Mike Sparks – Elk City Schools Jack Strain – Texas County

Guests:

Matt Jacobson - OMAG Shelly Snider – Pontotoc County Tammy Brown - Pontotoc County Keressa Kerr – Pontotoc County Gary Starns – Pontotoc County Noel Hunter – Cherokee County Jenny Vincent - Ellis County Alicia Wagnon - Lincoln County Melanie McFee - Lincoln County Donnie Head – CED 8 Cliff Hall - Cherokee County Ernie Moore – EODD Carl Munson - Lincoln County Marlon Miller - Lincoln County Chris Schroder – ACCO Fazila Craven - BlueCross BlueShield January Gilmore - Plan Administration Office Jennifer Schnelle – Plan Administration Office Ross Naylor - Plan Administration Office

<u>Board Members Absent:</u> Gina Richardson – Cimarron County Kathy Ross – Johnston County Lisa Turpin – Seminole County

Tammy Malone called the meeting to order at 10:00 AM

<u>Agenda Item A</u> – Discussion and possible action thereon regarding a plan wide surcharge.

During the previous meeting, the consensus was that a \$4,000,000 surcharge would be a reasonable amount to help bring the Plan current on claims. It was confirmed with the State auditor's office that counties can use their ARPA funds to pay their portion of the surcharge, if needed.

Mike Bouvier made a motion to accept a \$4,000,000 surcharge. CJ Rose seconded.

Explanation was needed on a payout schedule with a 6-month deadline being suggested. Groups would be able to choose how to make their payments, either by paying it all at once or choosing to make up to 6 payments.

Mike Bouvier amended his motion to accept the \$4,000,000 surcharge and allow up to 6 months for groups to pay their portion.

Roll call vote.

Mike Bouvier, Mike Brittingham, Heath Dobrovolny, Tammy Malone, Jymay McLeod, Kristie Moles, Gary Nielsen, Cindy Pratt, CJ Rose, Lynn Smith, Mike Sparks, and Jack Strain all voted aye; motion carried.

Agenda Item B – Discussion and possible action thereon regarding changes to the 2022/2023 Plan year benefits.

At the previous meeting there was a request to look at rolling back the originally approved deductible increase. The Plan's actuary was contacted, and it was determined that there would only be a 0.8% impact to the premium to reduce the deductible by \$250 on the diamond and platinum plans. That would be a \$5.40 increase on the diamond plan. The impact to the gold, silver and bronze plans would be even less. The options would be to either keep the original deductible changes that were made in January, reduce the deductible and adjust the premiums, or reduce the deductible and not adjust the premiums. It is felt that it would not be that great of an impact to not adjust the premiums if the deductible is lowered.

Also up for discussion was the ability for groups to choose multiple plan designs. This would allow groups to choose a base plan to offer their employees and then choose a second plan to allow the employees to buy up to and pay the difference. There is discussion about how the plan design buy up would work and what the impact would be to the Plan.

The BlueDistinctions change that was made during the January board meeting has been rolled back. The use of BlueDistinctions will still be a benefit, but it will not be a requirement for members to use BlueDistinction centers for certain procedures.

Jack Strain made a motion to reduce the deductible by \$250 without adjusting the premiums and allow groups to choose multiple plans with a base plan and a buy option. Cindy Pratt seconded.

Roll call vote.

Mike Bouvier, Mike Brittingham, Heath Dobrovolny, Tammy Malone, Jymay McLeod, Kristie Moles, Gary Nielsen, Cindy Pratt, CJ Rose, Lynn Smith, Mike Sparks, and Jack Strain all voted aye; motion carried.

New Business unforeseen at the time of the posted agenda

Next board meeting is moved to April 21st.

Gary Nielsen made a motion to adjourn. Cindy Pratt seconded. Mike Bouvier, Mike Brittingham, Heath Dobrovolny, Tammy Malone, Jymay McLeod, Kristi Moles, CJ Rose, Lynn Smith, Mike Sparks, and Jack Strain all voted aye; motion carried.

Secretary/Board of Review

Attested To/ Notary

My Commission Expires

Chairman/Board of Review

Attested To/ Notary

My Commission Expires